How Do You Know What You Want / Need

KEEPitSTUPID

Im new to this trials without and engine stuff, but always been around cycling and 2 wheels of some kind, this seems to be the game more about feel than all the other takes on riding, that ive found.

Ive trauled the internet looking for ideas and or graphs or gauges of what you need for your height or style to choose the correct gear.

Like choosing a stem? How do you know its right? Is thee a basic guideline? Is there something i can do or cant do that will tell me its too long or the bikes wrong for me, or could be better? Im lost in the variables, i seen a post somewhere else of someone saying they want smething longer (frame) how do they know that?

Thanks people.

Hmmm . The ideal starting point would be to select your intended style - street , natural , TGS , competition etc and then within that subdiscipline enquire as to what is popular in terms of frame length / geometry , gearing and that all important stem / handlebar combo.

It can be relly helpful ( and fun ! ) to attend a group ride and try out several variants of your chosen type , noting the difference in feel , where the balnce point is and so on . Be sure to checvk out our bike pics thread to get n idea of what the cool kids are rolling on . A world of opportunity lies before you !

Struggling on last few days with getting some basics down, and ive noticed im struggling with silly things like trackstands on my mod, which i know i can do to a decent standard from moto trials and just being around bikes all my life, also hopping on the back wheel or learning to, i feel too on top of the bars, how do i know if the stem handlebar combo is too long for me, im only a short ar*e but i just feel like im loaded allover the front

Long story short, stem handlebar combo help :-) is there some sort of move or shape i can make that gives a vague idea of whether or not im in the right position.