Snapped Ligaments

Joe O'Connor

I had a 'suspected' torn ligament in my right ankle many years ago when I rode motorcycle trials. I came back home to notice my ankle bruised and swollen (toes turned black too).

I went to the hospital for an x-ray and they put it down to a damaged/torn ligament. Although mine wasn't terribily painful, it healed in about 2 weeks and I was back to riding.

Just take it easy and don't try to push yourself beyond what you can do with it - afterall the quicker you try and push it, the more damage you'll end up doing to yourself.

Light excercise to keep it active and just take it easy :)

I did. Rolled my right ankle and f**ked shit up!

If you look around online, you'll find some little exercises and stuff to do - just stick with them. I just did mine when I was lying in bed in the morning and at night, and they helped me regain full movement. I also made sure I wore a 661 Pro Race Ankle Brace as soon as I started riding again, and kept wearing it for a few months after it felt like I'd healed just to make sure. Don't keep wearing one though 'cos it'll never get back to full strength because it's always being supported. Pound the Ibuprofen too!

So yeah: a good ankle brace (something with laces and straps is ideal), ibuprofen and exercises.

I was riding again after 2 weeks or so, but just really gentle stuff. If I dipped my heel at all it hurt 'cos the swelling was all on the top/top right of my ankle, so it was sort of restricting my movement.

Sweet, its good to know I havent stuffed things up haha.

Its a smaller one on top of the ankle, the person who checked it out could slide my foot up while holding my leg still! :sick:

Yeah I have some exercises to do and stuff.

Really the gayest part about it is that Parachute Festival is on in a week and I cant go crazy in the Thrash pits for all the metal bands!